12.05.2008 - At the Saturday Academy, forest maps to be talked about 10.10

On Saturday, 17 May 2008, at 3 pm, the Saturday Academy on the topic of “Map of the forests of the Republic of Estonia 1923-1924: restoration and preservation” will be held at the Mikkel Museum (Weizenbergi 28) in the framework of the exhibition “Ennistatud Eesti” (“Restored Estonia”). Ave Tarvas (National Library of Estonia) will deliver a lecture.

At the exhibition “Restored Estonia. Restoration of the 1920-1930 cultural heritage of the Republic of Estonia”, many old maps and town maps will be displayed (see also http://ennistatudeesti.virtuaalmuuseum.ee). Amongst the original maps covered with glass, a copy of the forest map compiled in the early years of the Estonian state is a true eye catcher with its large dimensions (more than two and a half metres high and three metres wide).

Ave Tarvas will explain how the mouldy printed sheets that were full of holes, rips and shoeprints, had German and Russian place names and were glued together and the Estonian forest districts drawn on them manually, were restored into a unique map and a digital copy.

Everyone who is interested in old maps and restoration and preservation of these is expected at the Saturday Academy. Researchers of the history of the Estonian forest management and nature, as well as former and new forest owners are also expected to participate and have a look at the displayed copy of the map. The map that was prepared in 1923-1924 is an exciting comparison with the current Estonian forests, borders of forest districts, etc.

Entrance with the ticket to Mikkel Museum.

Press release compiled by:
Tiina-Mall Kreem
Kadriorg Art Museum
Curator of the exhibition “Restored Estonia”
Telephone +372 565 8607